Touring Motor Gliders Association (TMGA)

Help a new TMG owner with varios

Nick Scholtes

Hello TMG Forums!

I have some questions about varios.

I recently purchased a Grob 109A.  I have not flown it yet, as it is somewhat of a project.  I'm hoping to have it airworthy by the end of Sept. 2018. 

To understand my question, let me give you some background about me.  I am a powered aircraft pilot.  Lots of experience there. But only 25 hours in gliders, most in a Katana Extreme (in which I got my Private Glider and Self-Launch endorsement).  However, I have NEVER (yet) soared a glider!  Hence, I know nothing about varios.  Now, on with the questions.

On the panel of my Grob G109 are three varios.  See attached pictures.  The questions:

-- Why 3?

-- What do each of them do? 

-- Is it possible to get an English manual for the more complicated vario? I've found a German manual.  Worst case I can Google Translate it I suppose.

-- The one vario in the picture that shows "Winter" in the middle of the vario shows about 80 "down" (I assume that's 80 fpm?).  That picture was taken a month ago.  Today the vario dial is almost 200 "down".  Why is that?  How can that be adjusted?  Is there a manual available for this vario?

Thank you for any and all help on this topic!

Best Regards,

Nick

IMG_0778.jpg

IMG_0779.jpg

IMG_0780.jpg

IMG_0781.jpg

• Registered

Hi Nick, here's a start on your situation:

- Three varios is overkill; many get by with just one, as I do. Some like to have a backup mechanical vario (the Winter unit - no power required to run it), in case the power to the electric vario fails; the 3rd vario (on the right side) may be there for the pilot in the right seat to see easily.