Touring Motor Gliders Association (TMGA)

Instructor for my 14 year old

M20E Turbo

Hi All.  I'm a private pilot that flies a Mooney.  I've got three kids 14 and under that all like to fly and want to learn.  I'd like to have them get a glider license and fly a touring motor glider until old enough to solo private pilot.  I'd even consider buying a touring motor glider and amortizing over 3 kids for instruction.  I'm north of Chicago. Can anyone recommend an instructor that might be open to young pilots and/or a potential rental?  Where do I start.  My regular CFI isn't familiar. 

Also, any suggestions on a good TMG for this task?

Thanks!

I highly recommend that you get them started on CONDOR, the soaring flight simulator.  They will become proficient very quickly. As for touring motorgliders, you might consider Pipistrel. 

BTW, Right Rudder in FL is a Pipistrel Distributor, and they have also have a $2999 accelerated one-week Learn To Fly a Glider Flight training program, which is conducted in a Pipistrel Touring Motorglider. 

Thanks Jefferson!  That's the kind of thing I was looking for.  I'll check out the sim and give Right Rudder a call.  My boy is fairly proficient from flying in my Mooney with me, but he can solo the Sim and see how that goes.  Might be a Mooney flight down to Florida to hang for a week.

Any reason pipistrel over another motor glider?

12 hours ago, M20E Turbo said:

Any reason pipistrel over another motor glider?