Touring Motor Gliders Association (TMGA)

Fuels

kd6veb

Hi Gang

Most of you by now will have received a copy of the AD on fuels from Jim. We have had discussions on this forum on the use of high (10%) content alcohol fuels. Now we have recently found out that alcohol is a no no for the Phoenix. A pair of wings have been damaged by the used of Mogas containing alcohol. So what's the problem? I don't see a problem. We all have access to 100LL fuel and there is at least 25 years of successful usage of this fuel with the Rotax 912/4 engines. I have had over 15 years experience with Rotax engines initially with the Diamond trainers DA20 and Super Dimona motor glider. Absolutely no engine problems with 100LL. Then 10 years with the Stemme S10-VT with the Rotax 914 and 10 years with the DG800B with the Solo engine. Absolutely no problems with these engine attributable to 100LL problems. Now a couple of years with the Phoenix with no problems with 100LL.

100 LL fuel has been around for years and works well with most aircraft engines giving TBOs in the thousands of hours. So why would you consider using unregulated MOGAS in an aircraft especially one that uses composite fuel tanks? In the extremely rare situation where 100LL and alcohol free MOGAS are not available at a home base then the Phoenix maybe isn't the aircraft of choice but is there actually a place like as described?

Dave

• Registered
Hi Gang

In the extremely rare situation where 100LL and alcohol free MOGAS are not available at a home base then the Phoenix maybe isn't the aircraft of choice but is there actually a place like as described?

Dave

Hawaii. That's where the Dennis Yeomans flies his Phoenix, and it was his wings that developed the problem. All the mogas is E10, and only 130LL is the alternative.